internet, technology, laptop, social media, gdpr, business, computer, communication, digital, online, network, modern, mobile, blue computer, blue technology, blue laptop, blue mobile, blue facebook, blue online, blue network, blue internet, blue social, blue media, social media, social media, social media, gdpr, gdpr, gdpr, gdpr, gdpr
Photo by TheDigitalArtist on Pixabay

Foundations

Part of How to assess England's marketing automation market with no official revenue figures

Marketing automation commercial opportunities: buyer checks

Marketing automation commercial opportunities: five platform-fit checks for data readiness, journey building, permissions, procurement evidence and migration.

Marketing automation commercial opportunities depend on reviewing platform fit against a defined buyer workflow, not category excitement. A buyer can assess five possible use cases by identifying the operating problem, the event that makes it urgent, and evidence that would make a platform unsuitable. Public signals can frame that choice; they cannot supply a revenue forecast.

Set the platform review boundary

A platform review should use public evidence to frame small, bounded tests, not to forecast a market. The UK Business Data Survey 2026 found that 86% of surveyed businesses handled digitised data in 2025 to 2026. This broad UK indicator says nothing about record accuracy, campaign permission or whether records are joined across systems.

The Department for Business and Trade's SME Digital Adoption Taskforce report describes barriers including solutions that feel designed for larger organisations, switching cost, limited implementation confidence and fragmented support. This is policy evidence, not a marketing-software demand study. A platform review should therefore test the intended England buyer's actual workflow and requirements.

These sources help frame demand signals but do not establish revenue, market share or willingness to pay. The five commercial opportunities here are review contexts, not platform rankings: for each, check the buyer's operating problem, triggering event and current workaround before deciding whether a platform can address it.

Check 1: data readiness

Start by checking whether the candidate platform can support a defined automation case with the buyer's available data. Review identifiers, duplicates, event capture and ownership, then confirm that the case can be tested without requiring a platform purchase before its inputs are ready.

The ONS technology-adoption analysis found much wider cloud use than AI use among firms studied in 2023 and named difficulty finding business use cases as the leading reported AI barrier. Its population excludes microbusinesses and several industries, so it cannot predict an England-wide service market.

Segment, owned by Twilio, publishes a free tier covering 1,000 monthly tracked users. Fivetran's free plan covers 500,000 monthly active rows. Hightouch and Census both offer free developer tiers, with higher-volume pricing based on rows or syncs. These are adjacent data-stack products, not a like-for-like shortlist of marketing automation platforms; review whether the chosen platform can use the data they make available.

A platform review should examine data remediation as a standalone need, not assume that a licence will fix poor inputs. A data remediation assessment should leave the buyer with useful findings even if no software is purchased. The review passes this check only when identifiers and event capture can support the selected case; otherwise, resolve the input problem before evaluating automation.

Check 2: build one small-team journey

For a small-team journey, review whether the platform can map one enquiry, configure routing and follow-up, train an owner, and measure exceptions during an agreed pilot. A bounded package is a useful review context: assess the completed, documented workflow rather than the breadth of the feature set.

Small-team journey build tools

Force24

Base
Leeds
Pricing
Per licence
Free tier
No

Dotdigital

Base
Croydon
Pricing
Per licence
Free tier
No

ActiveCampaign

Base
Not stated
Pricing
About £15/month
Free tier
No

Klaviyo

Base
Not stated
Pricing
Free tier
Free tier
250 contacts

For this platform shortlist, Force24 is based in Leeds and Dotdigital in Croydon, and both quote per licence rather than publishing list prices. ActiveCampaign starts at around £15 a month for 1,000 contacts; Klaviyo's free tier covers 250 contacts and Mailchimp's covers 500. These published entry points do not decide which platform best fits the journey; review the workflow and support effort alongside them.

Public-sector buying illustrates a platform-plus-service bundle that a review should account for. The government's Digital Marketplace G-Cloud 14 listing for Sugar Market, a marketing automation platform, resold by ENABLEIT TECHNOLOGIES LIMITED, prices it at £800 to £4,800 an instance a month with a free trial. It includes a dedicated project manager, in-person and virtual training, and an account manager after deployment.

Given the Taskforce's reported confidence and complexity barriers, this is a relevant platform-review context, not proof of demand. Check the implementation effort around one repeated event and count configuration and support hours honestly. The platform fails this test if every customer needs a bespoke integration that cannot be maintained at the proposed fee.

Check 3: trace one permission record

Review consent operations by following one contact from collection to every possible send. The check should classify recipients, preserve evidence and establish whether objections propagate through connected systems. It makes the operating rule visible and testable rather than treating a platform feature as a legal guarantee.

Consent and preference tools

OneTrust

Core function
Consent management
Free tier
Not stated
Pricing basis
Not stated
Typical cost
Not stated

Cookiebot

Core function
Consent management
Free tier
One domain
Pricing basis
Per domain
Typical cost
Not stated

HubSpot

Core function
Preference centre
Free tier
Not stated
Pricing basis
Per seat
Typical cost
About £20/month

OneTrust sells consent and preference management with a preference centre. Cookiebot, owned by Usercentrics, publishes a free tier for one domain and charges per domain above it. HubSpot includes a subscription preference centre in Marketing Hub, with its Starter tier typically listed around £20 per seat each month. OneTrust and Cookiebot are consent-management products; these examples should not be read as a like-for-like platform ranking.

The ICO's B2B marketing guidance distinguishes corporate subscribers from sole traders and certain partnerships. It explains the continuing UK GDPR duties around personal business contacts. The provider's service can expose the rule for review, but it cannot promise a legal guarantee.

Reject a platform proposition if it depends on undisclosed data sourcing or promises compliance without qualified advice. The review is not whether a platform can display a preference, but whether a reviewed operating rule can be made visible and checked from collection through each possible send.

Check 4: prepare evidence for procurement

A marketing platform review should include its handling of personal and commercially sensitive data. The National Cyber Security Centre's SaaS assessment guidance gives buyers questions about encryption, authentication, logging, incidents and governance. Check whether the platform supplier can provide evidence that helps each prospect avoid beginning its review from zero.

Vanta and Sprinto automate evidence collection and sell annual subscriptions quoted per framework, typically in the low thousands of pounds a year for a small team. ISMS.online, a UK platform based in Sussex, sells subscriptions rather than per-audit fees. These are security-assurance products, not marketing automation platforms to rank against the campaign tools. A review should assess useful maintained evidence, not a badge or vague security page.

For the procurement check, request data-flow diagrams, sub-processor records, access controls and retention, incident contacts and dated test evidence. Specialist review remains necessary for the customer's risk and regulatory setting. A bounded test is whether the available evidence answers one customer's security questionnaire; a platform review should record what still needs specialist attention.

Check 5: rehearse migration and exit

Review exit readiness with customers approaching renewal or consolidation rather than assuming every small business wants to move platform. The report's switching concerns make the question relevant, but the buyer's actual export options and contract determine whether portability can be promised.

Insycle cleans and deduplicates records inside HubSpot and Salesforce before export. Zapier and Make move automations between platforms, with paid plans typically starting under £30 a month and under £10 a month, respectively. Salesforce Data Loader and native export tools are free, but their scope is limited by fields and objects. These are migration or integration aids, not competing marketing automation platforms.

The portability review covers a field inventory, clean export, suppression preservation, documented mappings, rehearsal and deletion evidence. Ask to see the actual export options and contract terms. Reject a generic portability claim if important history, consent evidence or automation logic cannot be transferred.

A practical test is a fixed-fee rehearsal export into a sandbox before anyone signs. This addresses the report's concern about switching risk without claiming every small business wants to move platforms. If important history, consent evidence or automation logic cannot transfer, reject the generic migration promise and record that limitation in the review.

Record the platform review

Choose by evidence of fit for a defined buyer, not category excitement. For each opportunity, record the intended buyer and trigger, current workaround, verified cost, delivery effort, disqualifier and smallest paid test, then compare interview statements with files or workflow traces where permission allows.

Commercial evidence begins only when a defined customer commits time or money under known terms. Public material establishes neither revenue, market share nor willingness to pay. Until then, treat these five contexts as opportunities to investigate platform fit, not as an England market forecast.

Offer testedEvidence checkedPaid test or stopping rule
Data readinessIdentifiers, duplicates, event capture, ownership and one automation caseFixed-fee assessment that stands alone without a platform purchase
Small-team journeyOne repeated event, configuration and support effortPaid implementation; stop if a bespoke integration cannot be maintained at the proposed fee
Permission operationsOne contact from collection through every possible sendFixed-fee trace; reject undisclosed sourcing or compliance promises without qualified advice
Procurement assuranceEvidence requested by one buyerOne-off pack for one security questionnaire; specialist review remains necessary
Migration and exitExport options, history, consent evidence and automation logicFixed-fee sandbox rehearsal; reject a generic promise if key elements cannot transfer

Keep each platform review narrow, name its disqualifier in advance and count delivery effort rather than relying on feature breadth. Data readiness should remain useful if no platform is bought, and migration claims should follow an observed export rather than assumption. These checks distinguish a testable commercial opportunity in England from a market forecast unsupported by buyer commitments.

More in Foundations